Skip to content
1 min read

Score Finished?

Rules Refresh Stacie Townsend 11-28-2022

A fault was called to start a pro mixed doubles match between Lucy Kovalova—Matt Wright and Evgenia Erokhina—Brandon French at the PPA Takeya Classic. See this fault in the video below…

To start the game, Erokhina committed a fault, as she hit her serve before the score was finished being called by the referee. Although this seems to have been a tight call, it is a good reminder of this particular pickleball rule—do not hit your serve until the entire score is called—as well as the importance of taking a deep breath before any game.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

07-12-21

Stacie Townsend

Paddle Down!

3 min read

10-18-21

Stacie Townsend

Broken Ball, What Now?

3 min read

06-05-25

Stacie Townsend

Post-Match Penalties? What You Need to Know About the 2025 Pickleball Rule

Ever wonder how your match could start with a point already on the board? A new 2025 rule allows technical fouls from previous...

2 min read