Skip to content
1 min read

Nothing But Net

Rules Refresh Pickle4 Team 01-03-2024

Your opponent runs forward from mid-court to play the ball. She hits the ball after it bounces. After she hits the ball, it goes across the net and hits you in the shoulder. After you get hit with the ball, her momentum takes her through the non-volley zone; and to arrest her momentum, she reaches out and grabs the net post. What is the call? 🤔

This is a fault on you for getting hit with the ball. The rule that governs this is 7.I. The natural question many will have is â€œWhy isn’t grabbing the net post a fault?” The reason is because as soon as the ball hit you, it became a ‘dead ball’. After the dead ball occurs, players can touch the net, net post, the opponent’s court, etc.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

05-30-22

•

Pickle4 Team

Indent To Replay

3 min read

11-27-24

•

Pickle4 Team

Q&A - Conflict in the Kitchen

2 min read

08-20-25

•

Pickle4 Team

Pickleball Through the Net

Is a pickleball that goes through a damaged net still in play? Find out what the rules say about faulty net equipment, when...

2 min read