Skip to content
1 min read

Q&A – Dropped Paddle

Rules Refresh Mark Peifer 10-18-2024

By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee

QUESTION: While my partner was in the middle of a volley, I dropped my paddle into the NVZ. Opponents stopped play, calling it a fault. I disagreed. Who is right?

ANSWER: You are, as long as you were not touching your partner while they were hitting the volley. This is no different than standing in the NVZ while your partner is hitting the volley. Dropping your paddle in the NVZ is a fault if you were the player hitting the volley. If this was an officiated match, a referee might be able to make a case for a distraction fault on you if they thought you dropped your paddle on purpose. Yes, it’s been done before. 🙂

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

03-06-23

Mark Peifer

Play On Or Fault?

1 min read

02-21-22

Mark Peifer

Drop A Line Call?

2 min read

08-20-25

Mark Peifer

Pickleball Through the Net

Is a pickleball that goes through a damaged net still in play? Find out what the rules say about faulty net equipment, when...

2 min read