Skip to content
1 min read

Q&A – Dropped Paddle

Rules Refresh Mark Peifer 10-18-2024

By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee

QUESTION: While my partner was in the middle of a volley, I dropped my paddle into the NVZ. Opponents stopped play, calling it a fault. I disagreed. Who is right?

ANSWER: You are, as long as you were not touching your partner while they were hitting the volley. This is no different than standing in the NVZ while your partner is hitting the volley. Dropping your paddle in the NVZ is a fault if you were the player hitting the volley. If this was an officiated match, a referee might be able to make a case for a distraction fault on you if they thought you dropped your paddle on purpose. Yes, it’s been done before. 🙂

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

06-27-22

Mark Peifer

Whose Call Is It Anyway?

2 min read

04-03-25

Mark Peifer

Strike on the Sideline

What happens if your opponent’s momentum carries them past the net along the sidelines? If you respond with a less-than-ideal...

2 min read

04-11-24

Mark Peifer

Q&A - At Fault

2 min read