Skip to content
2 min read

Pickleball Rules to Know – Double Hit, Double Trouble?

News Stacie Townsend 05-16-2020

Have you ever hit a pickleball twice with your paddle during an on-court rally? If so, what was the ruling on the pickleball court?

Rule 11.A of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball provides that double hits are legal on the pickleball courts, but only under certain circumstances. To be a legal double hit, the hit must be (1) unintentional, (2) continuous, (3) a single-direction stroke, and (4) by one player. If the double hit does not meet any of these four criteria (i.e. the double hit is intentional, not continuous, a multiple directions, or struck by more than one player), then the double hit will result in a fault and the player striking the pickleball will lose the rally.

Have you ever hit a winner off of a legal double hit? Have you ever won a rally off of an illegal double hit (i.e. a fault) by your opponents? Share with us in the comments below!

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

09-18-23

Stacie Townsend

Tough Breaks in the Life of a Pickleball

Pickleball has a recycling challenge. With an estimated five million Americans picking up the sport, and that number growing...

5 min read

03-21-22

Stacie Townsend

Why You Should Watch Pro Pickleball

With the rise of the two pro pickleball tours (the PPA and the APP) and Major League Pickleball (MLP), you have the ability...

6 min read

06-13-20

Stacie Townsend

Where Can I Play Pickleball?

Short answer: Anywhere that is at least 20 feet wide by 44 feet long! The fact that you have the ability to play pickleball...

2 min read